Country Living March 2017 – Spring in February.

country-living-graphic Happy March everyone. Today I’d love to introduce you to my wonderful S.I.L Jen. She is a wonderful friend and the best Martha Stewart in my circle of friends. She’s always coming up with fun and creative ways to host a party, decorate her home or make an amazing meal. With all her talents, I decided to reach out to her to see if she’d like to participate in my blog. She has kindly agreed to do a Country Living segment which I’m really excited about. While I do live in a city, I always crave the comforts of the country just because I like the quiet and miss the stars. When ever I have a chance to visit Connecticut I love the drive to her home as well as many of my friends because I get to see endless roads filled with trees and occasionally some beautiful historical buildings or farms with happy animals.

Thank you Jen for doing this. I’m very excited about your contributions.

Spring In February

by Jen Fino

60-70 degree temps in February?  Yessssssssaaaaahhhhhh!  I don’t know about you, but the first official sign of spring for me is when I see the green shoots of a crocus peeking through a blanket of snow or the cold, hard ground.  They say “Hi, I’m here.  I’m cute, I’m tough and spring is here. .”  I mean really?  Are we going to allow a groundhog, a calendar or Maui to get in the way of this feeling?  (I just watched the movie with my girls, okay?  And he was kind of cute and funny.  YOU’RE WELCOME!)  I’m not going backwards.  It’s officially Spring in my book.  Plus, I’ve already rolled all the windows down in the car, opened the sunroof and sang out loud to hair blowing in my face and sticking to my freshly lacquered lips.   In your face, Winter!

With spring comes an abundant feeling of rebirth, growth and vitality.  Personally, I feel more invigorated by spring than I do with an upcoming New Year.  It is this stimulation that got me thinking about planting a garden.  At my father’s place the other day I found myself looking out into his sunny backyard where my eyes were drawn to his bare garden beds.  There they sat waiting for the warmer days of spring when my father would prepare the soil, plant the seedlings, water them consistently, mulch, eliminate weeds and control pests until harvest.  Then and there I was inspired to grow my own garden. Now, this is not a new adventure for me.  I’ve attempted to grow a garden before.  “Grow zucchini” they said, “it’s the easiest vegetable to grow” they said, “you’ll be making zucchini bread for weeks” they said.  Wrong.  ONE!  One zucchini! That is so not cool Maui.  The thing is, we live in the woods.  This isn’t like Snow White and the Seven Dwarves woods.  We have about an acre of land surrounded by beautiful trees and unfortunately, we don’t get enough direct sunlight in the backyard to grow a bountiful garden. Of course, I could just move it to the front yard where it’s sunnier longer but I’m not too keen on the idea of an all-you-can-eat buffet for bunnies in my front yard.  The other thing is, well, my green thumb is a little more brown than green.  IMO I take issue with the fact that Mother Nature can’t water, weed and shoo the bugs away herself.  The crocuses didn’t need any help.  Isn’t this supposed to be natural, and easy and natural?  “They” said you can’t go wrong with zucchini’s.  I went wrong with zucchini’s!  (I’m somehow thinking of my painful experience with breastfeeding…you know where I’m going with this).

Contemplating all of this and thinking about my options I thought “why not grow a garden here.” So, in a sweet, daddy’s little girl way I asked my father if I could borrow a small slice of his heaven to grow a garden.  I’m growing a garden y’all and I’m taking you along on the journey! I’m terrified but excited.  There’s research, and planning and scheduling to do but I’m determined and ready to do whatever I need to do to make this successful.  I’m going to squeeze this into my crazy life.  I’ll stop in between dance and softball drop offs and pick-ups, I’ll weed with freshly manicured fingernails and hoe (?) in pencil skirts and heels if I must (with girls in tow)!  As Maui would say, “It’s time to muscle up buttercup!”  What is your first unofficial sign of spring and how has it inspired you?

flowers-in-the-snow

Leave a Reply

